Testing…one…two…three…

I’ve been telling everyone that we do not have a toddler yet, since she is not technically toddling. It seems unfair that you only have a baby for a year. But in the last 2 weeks or so, the baby has left the building and the toddler has moved in – with a vengeance.

She has taken to hurling herself backwards when she doesn’t get her way, or when I fail to read her mind, or when the breeze picks up from the west. Luckily, that didn’t last too long. Now, she at least has the good sense to crawl to a rug or carpet, sloooooowly roll back, and then commences with the tantrum. I’m thrilled to see that she has some iota of self-preservation in that little body of hers, because I was really beginning to wonder.

She also likes to test her limits. And who can blame her, really? I like the spunk. Several weeks ago I stopped picking up the animals’ water bowls and decided instead that we’d learn to not play in them. This went against everyone’s advice to pick my battles, just remove them from her sight & reach, etc. But due to our pets’ ages, temperaments and health issues,  I decided that the water bowls needed to stay where they were. So we spent a full morning playing excruciatingly close to the water bowls and correcting her when we swan dived into them. I felt like it went pretty well. After a few more reminders on subsequent days, I’d say we have an 85% success rate going here.

But then the testing started. The other day, she crawled up to it and her little pointer finger flicked up like it was on a spring. She locked eye contact with me and slowly put her finger on the rim of the bowl. And then proceeded to draaaag it around the edge of the bowl. I had a brief moment of panic. Was the rule that she wasn’t to touch the water bowl, or just the water? OMG, that’s so cute. Don’t laugh. Don’t laugh. Don’t laugh!  So I just said, “Elia, you know that’s the cats’ water. Do you want your water?”

She removed her finger and then flung her entire hand over the bowl. Just hovering over the water. “Elia, come get your water. That water is for the cat.” She smiled and stretched her hand even further and proceeded to pat, pat, pat the wall behind the bowl. OMG, that’s even cuter. Don’t laugh. Don’t laugh. Don’t laugh.

I’m extremely proud to report that she eventually crawled away to get her own water. That time. Sometimes a bowl full of water is just too tempting.

January 2012: The good ole days.

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Testing…one…two…three…

Leave a Reply

