The routine

I realized that it’s been a while since I’ve recapped our daily routine. It’s changed a lot and is on the verge of another big shift, so I wanted to record this snapshot of daily life at 1 year old.

Good morning, sunshine!  After months of working on this, we’ve pushed her wake up time from 5am to between 6 & 7am. The time change helped us tons, which has resulted in TWO 7am mornings in a row.

Bed Head

Breakfast of Champions: She nurses for a bit, but is becoming more easily distracted. There are too many amazing things to look at in the morning. Mom, dogs, sunlight streaming through the window, etc. After that, Ashley brings her downstairs for breakfast and music. Though she doesn’t need purees any more, she still likes them with oatmeal in the morning, so she’ll have apples, pears or prunes. Sometimes Ash makes her an omelet or pancakes. I’m shamelessly lazy while this is going on, and usually spread out in the bed. I tend to fall into peaceful sleep about 2 seconds before they come back upstairs. I take my shower while Elia destroys the bathroom, then we go downstairs and play and read a bit.

Nap-a-dap: She’s ready for her nap exactly 3 hours after waking. Like clockwork. She still nurses down and gets rocked to sleep, but there are 2 big changes in napland these days. First, at 10.5 months I tried to put her down in her crib, as I tried every month or so. She rolled over and looked right at me. I started the butt pats and waited for the loud protests that I knew would come. Instead, she dropped her head and went right to sleep. She’s napped in her crib from that moment on! At the same time, she dropped from 3 naps to 2. She was on 3 a day for a looooong time, but she needed them. And now 2 months later, she’s trying to get to 1 nap a day, but we’re not quite there yet. Nap 1 will last from 45 minutes – 2 hours. The uncertainty makes planning our day hard, but it is what it is. The up side is that I get to clean while she naps now.

Sweet Sleep

Ladies Who Lunch: At noon, we sit down for lunch together. We often have leftovers from dinner, but I also try to keep one type of steamed veggie, beans of some sort, boiled eggs, greek yogurt or cheese, and fresh fruit on hand at all times. If there are no leftovers, we just make it up as we go based on the list above. She eats really well. She still hasn’t outright rejected anything – not even salmon. Some days she eats more than others, but if she has a light lunch, she tends to make it up for dinner. Plus, she still nurses a lot so I know I don’t have to worry too much, as long as she’s eating a nice balance of things.

Red Beans & Rice

Gallivanting Girls: Now it’s time to dress her for the day and GO! We get out of the house nearly every day, whether it’s for errands or play dates with the local parent group. She loves story time, and there are 3 libraries fairly close, so we always have options. We go to the park A LOT these days, even though she’s still not walking. I’m working on a running schedule (but keep getting derailed due to knee pain), so sometimes we go for a run in the jogging stroller. We’ve also just started music class, which we’re very excited about. And by “we”, I mean Ashley and I, though she seems to love it too. 😉 Otherwise, we play and by “play”, I mean that she explores and I try to keep her alive.

Music Class

Nap-a-dap Deaux: Since she’s dropped to 2 naps and is in her crib, I try to be home for her naps now, whereas before, I’d just make sure that we were on a long drive, or she was in her sling at nap time and she’d nap on the go. This 2nd nap is from 30 minutes to an hour and occasionally doesn’t happen at all. Aye. I think pretty soon we’ll start delaying her first nap to see if she goes to one a day. If she won’t sleep, we still nurse and rock with the lights off, so she at least gets quiet time.

More pictures of a sleeping baby!

More pictures of a sleeping baby!

Galavant Deaux: If the first excursion was of the errand variety, which it often is, I’ll try to get out for a walk and to the park after the 2nd nap. Or, if I couldn’t do all my housework during the first nap, I get it done while she chases me around and pulls down what I just put up.

I'll help you with the laundry, mommy

Mama! Ashley comes home between 5 and 6, they have cuddle and playtime for just a bit before dinner. For most of her young life, we have fed her and then Ash put her to bed while I completed dinner. The 2 of us ate once she was in bed. Lately though, we’ve moved up our dinner time and pushed back her bedtime so we can all have dinner together. Ashley and I have really enjoyed it and Elia has really just gone with the flow. She now eats what we do for dinner (with minor modifications to her food of course).

Nom

Good night, sweetheart: Ashley give her a bottle at 7 and rocks her to sleep. Sometimes she downs 4-5oz and sometimes the bottle is only a tool to help her drift off and she only has an ounce or two. Unless something strange is going on, she goes to sleep fairly easily.

Party Time! After 4 or so months of sleeping through the night, we hit a massive speed bump. It started with a cold and then turning into teething (4 teeth in 3 weeks). A bad night had her up every 1.5 hours, or awake for up to 2 hours before napping for an hour and starting all over. It was a huge challenge, but at exactly 1 year she got back to a good sleeping pattern. We’re loving and appreciating every moment until the next set of teeth.

Nursing: She officially has milk 4 times a day: early morning, before the 2 naps and her bottle at night, however, she does frequent “drive bys” during the day while playing and of course gets nursed down at each night waking, so she’s getting far more than that.

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

