Leaf Garden

I planted a leaf garden. Isn’t it lovely?

Leaf Garden

Actually, the leaves are there just so I can keep track of where I planted the Jonquil bulbs. There are a total of 60 bulbs planted in our small little townhome front and back yards (50 jonquil and 10 tulip). And it took over a week.

The first day, I had the bright idea to try this while home alone with Elia. She loves her exersaucer and she loves being outside, so being outside in her exersaucer should be amazing, right? Wrong. She clearly used that baby sixth sense to infer that I was doing something that didn’t involve her and wouldn’t have that. I briefly considered putting her in the Beco on my back, but wasn’t comfortable with that, so I picked her up and we headed inside. I got 5 bulbs in.

I wised up and tried again last weekend while Ashley was home, but wasn’t wise enough to remember the time change. Apparently there is 15 minutes of light between the end of the Saints game and sunset. I got 8 bulbs in.

The next day, I went on a long walk with Elia and she was still asleep when I got home, so I pulled her up to the bed around our tree, put the brakes on the jogging stroller and got to planting. I got 6 in before the rain started.

The day after that, I walked outside with my spade and the rain started immediately. No bulbs.

Finally, finally I was able to get the rest in today while Ashley watched Elia inside and it did not rain. At this point I was SO over it. I pretty much dug holes and threw in bulbs without concern for depth or spacing. But they’re in. Place your bets on how many will actually bloom given those questionable planting techniques!

Bulbs from 2 years ago

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Family, Seven Months. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

