I’m rocking my baby

The cleaning and scrubbing will wait till tomorrow,
for children grow up, as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down, cobwebs. Dust go to sleep.
I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.

I have a parenting secret. One that I know will bring judgement and would cause my pediatrician to keel over in shock.

I still hold my baby for most of her naps. It started when she was an infant. The path to our baby was too long and full of too many hoops to let her go. Then, she got a little older. When she showed herself to be quite the night owl, I poured over books on sleep and the takeaway was that sleep begets sleep. So we did everything possible during the day to ensure a well slept, but not overslept baby. She slept best in our arms, so we held her. Then, she got a little older. I like getting us out of the house, and filled our days with play groups, story time, and simple errands. The easy way to ensure a happy, social, cheerful baby was to make sure she napped well. And, well, see above for how she sleeps best. Then, she got a little older. And I made peace with it.

When we’re out or on a walk, she’ll sleep in the car seat, the stroller, or a carrier, so it never holds us back. When we’re home, there’s nothing else I’d rather do. I feel her ever-changing weight in my arms. Look to see how far her legs are extending now. Watch her lips make the faux sucking motions. When people compliment her long, beautiful eyelashes, my first thought is always, “I watched them grow in, nap after nap.”

My sister says that there’s nothing better than having a baby fall asleep on you. And she’s almost right. But the one thing better is when that baby wakes up, stretches, and gives you the sweetest smile when she realizes where she is. The cleaning and scrubbing can definitely wait.

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m rocking my baby

  1. Wendi says:

    ❤ I could have written this post. I did this with all three of my babies (Charlotte just nursed to sleep and is sleeping on my). With #2 and #3 it gets trickier but they napped on me in a sling/Beco while we were on the go with the older one(s). Cherish these moments. Some day seem so long, but the time really does go by too fast.

  2. Beth says:

    I think it’s sweet that you’re able to hold her while she naps every day. I totally miss the days when Ashley would just fall asleep in my arms. Others may not agree with your method, but it’s your baby and you can do as you please! 🙂

  3. Alicia says:

    Ashley’s the same way too. We just love the peaceful cuddles and quiet time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

