Help, My Apartment Has a Kitchen!

That was the name of the very first cook book that I ever owned. The recipes were divided into the usual categories (poultry, beef, veggie, desserts, etc), but they were also divided into “Very Easy”, “Easy”, and “Mostly Easy”. I learned to cook ONE thing from this cookbook.

But slowly, I’m learning my way around the kitchen and the grocery store. There are so many fascinating things to learn. Like, red wine and red wine vinegar are two different things. Or, that cumin is what makes tacos taste all taco-y. Or, that all-purpose flour is not self-rising flour is not bread flour is not cake flour is not pastry flour.

I requested a chicken & dumplings recipe from a friend who has actually cooked for a living, and she scoffed at the idea and told me to ditch the recipes and cook by tasting, smelling and looking. I shared my kitchen mishaps and convinced her that I still need the recipe crutch. I did finally get a recipe out of her, but it’s full of such gems as “season to taste” and “cook ’til it’s done.” Looks like we’ll be waiting a long time for chicken & dumplings.

But look what can be done with a recipe:

NOT Chicken & Dumplings, but something I was brave enough to try this weekend. Southern Living's on top, mine below. Click photo for recipe.

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

