Everything’s quicker in Texas

Ah, Texas. 90+ degrees in October. I forgot that could even happen.

But sacrificing a week of glorious fall Georgia weather was so worth it. We spent the week with my dad in Austin, which was quite lovely. Dad is totally smitten by Elia and she was totally smitten by his yellow lab “puppy” and his horse.

Meeting Siquitrilla and Mambo

It was a wonderful visit. Elia stayed on east coast time the whole trip which resulted in early bedtimes (6pm) and early wake ups (5am – ouch), but we’d go outside and watch the sun rise over his property and it made for some very sweet memories.

After that, we headed to San Antonio for alumni weekend. I saw an ex-coworker and many, many sorority sisters. I met spouses and babies for the first time, despite feeling like I knew them all personally thanks to the wonder that is facebook. I listened to familiar voices and took in familiar faces, marveling how comfortable it all was, even after 10(+) years. (And, damn we all still look great!) I heard and told stories that have been repeated among us so often that they’ve become legend, and I heard brand new stories. I thought about how much had changed, and then I thought, “wow, some things never change.” We kicked it old school, with my brother crashing on our hotel couch after creeping in at 2, 3, 4am. We “lost” Elia untold times, as my dear friends grabbed her and kept her for entire meals. I didn’t get to do half of what I wanted to. (I flaked on the time of our official class reunion event and didn’t make it.) I didn’t get to see ANYONE as much as I wanted to.

Bittersweet.

Bianca & Wendi

Family

Tio Pajarito

Zeta Chi Playdate

A little bad cell phone pic action

San Antonio at night

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Family, Six Months, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

