4 Months

Dang, didn’t I just write one of these? And yet here we are with a 4 month old! I have to say that this month has pretty much been pure joy. Isn’t that just pathetic? I gag as I write it and yet it’s true. I’m shocked at how full my heart is every time I look at those huge blue eyes and toothless grin.

The few challenges we had (sleep! car!) just seemed to resolve themselves at exactly 3 months. Friends had told us to expect change, but I didn’t expect it to be so sudden. Elia stopped screaming in the car ON her 3 month “birthday.” Seriously. One day she was inconsolable, and literally the very next she was looking out the window, or at her toy, or just cooing. She also started sleeping much better. She now goes down at 8, wakes between 1 & 4 for a feeding and then again around 6. After eating, she’ll have some quality time with Ashley before she gets ready for work (either “dance party” or a walk), and then we go back to sleep until 9 or so. I can live with this!

Eating is becoming an adventure – she kicks her leg up on my shoulder and is VERY distractible. It’s like she’s surprised to discover that I’m there while she’s eating, so she has to pop off every few seconds to flash me an adorable smile. Then back on, then pops off and grins or looks around. Etc, etc, etc.  I asked the doctor about it and she said I don’t really have to worry about her eating less since she’s clearly gaining weight.

The very best thing though, has been the explosion of “talking.” Oh MY, this girl can talk. She cooes and squeals and squeaks but besides the sounds,  her whole face gets in on the action. Her lips and tongue move like she’s really talking, eyes get big, eyebrows wiggle around…it’s great. She has a ton to say and it doesn’t matter if she’s happy or fussing you. She will lock eye contact and just tell you how it has to be….and this goes on all day long.

We just have so much fun with her each and every day.

She’s up to 13lbs, 4oz and 24.5″ . In a fun little coincidence I was the exact same weight and length at 4 months – to the ounce and half inch!

In other news, I can now say that pumping and dumping sucks. SUCKS. What was the cause of my pump & dump? Too much wine at a big girl’s night out? Too many margs on a date night? The free 6pm shot at our local watering hole? An extra-large, triple shot latte? NO! I friggin pulled a lower back muscle bending over to pick up a Publix bag. What am I, 80?? That happened Saturday night. On Sunday morning, I couldn’t hold Elia or bend over her changing table. I realized that I had my mom and Ashley practically falling over themselves to be with Elia on Sunday, whereas I wouldn’t have either of them on Monday. I had to get better by Monday. And that meant that I couldn’t afford to wait for an acupuncture appointment. So off I went to a doc in the box and got a shot. Within minutes, I was feeling gooood ;-).  And I only missed a few feedings. The good news is that I have a freezer full of milk for exactly this kind of surprise/emergency situation. I should  be just fine moving forward – I just need to remember to stretch before lifting grocery bags.

Big Girl!

Upper L to R: "Hey, what are these things??", Looking sweet in a dress made by her great grandmother, possibly while still in Cuba (!), 1st 4th, "I love the car!!"

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Family, Four Months. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 4 Months

  1. Stacey says:

    Great post. 🙂 Sorry you pulled your back out and had to pump and dump. I was told by a bf expert that you really don’t have to dump after drinking alcohol, just so you know. I never do. It’s one thing to have a couple drinks though compared to being hammered… 😛 Anyway, just an fyi. He said that people make it seem like you can’t bf for so any things and it’s just not true. I like his advice so I went with it
    (Dr. Jack Newman).

    • Alicia says:

      Yes, I like that advice!! 🙂 I also choose to believe that a dark beer here & there can actually increase milk production. Hurray, Shiner!
      I still can’t register with your blog btw. And now I can’t even comment on any public Blogger blogs. It starts off like the normal process, then defaults to a screen requiring me to register for my own blog. I’ve got a friend – more knowledgeable than me – looking into it!

Leave a Reply

