Back in the saddle

On my 30th birthday, I completed my 2nd sprint-distance triathlon. And, unlike the first one, it didn’t suck. In fact it completely rocked and I was on top of the world – doing better on every single leg than I’d even dared to hope. I don’t race to *race* – in fact, I was thrilled to come in the top 30% overall. But there was something about training that really gets me going.

Sun rising as we walked down to the swim.

I had hoped to complete the same race a year later as a distraction from the all-encompassing mess that is TTC, but our ultra conservative fertility doctor put the kibosh on all workouts over 30 minutes. I imagine a lot of people would be thrilled to find that limited work outs are “doctors orders,” but working out is kind of my therapy. Especially if weather allows for the workout to be outdoors.

Goal 1: Clip in without falling off. Goal 2: Don't fall off. Goal 3: Clip out without falling off.

So I pulled back on cardio, sticking to a strict 30 minute workout, plus yoga and pilates. Then, nearly 1 year ago, a pee and a “+” changed our lives for ever. The morning sickness came on with a vengeance and by the time it was gone, I was inhabiting a body that wasn’t quite my own anymore. Besides walking, I didn’t do much in the way of working out. Many months later, we welcomed the sweet sleepless wonder into our world, and I assure you that workouts were NOT going to happen as long as I was sleeping in 30 – 45 minute spurts. (I have an elementary school classmate with 4 children and one on the way. She finds time and energy for cross fit and full-length marathons. Huh?) So it’s been easily over a year since I’ve truly pushed myself.

But now that Elia is sleeping is a little better (at the very least, she goes back down very quickly, so the frequent wakings aren’t as brutal), I’m trying to get back in the saddle. As much as I’d love to train for some great feat like a tri or 1/2 marathon, I know that’s a little impractical, so I’ll have to draw my motivation from some other source.  This week I’ve gone back to my first spin class in over a year and my first Pilates class in almost as long. So far, all I have to say is OOOOWWWWWWWWWWW *sob!*!!! But, damn, it feels good to move again!

I know that I have to hold on to this extra 10 lbs for breastfeeding, and that’s really fine. Right now, my motivation to work out isn’t for the scale, but purely for me. For that rush of endorphins that make me feel like all’s right with the world. When you work out, life works out, right?

Hopefully this will benefit both of us, as I know Ashley is just dying for some alone time with the kiddo. So, here’s to hoping I can keep it up!

(Man, another post where my internet connection won’t let me upload pictures)

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Fourth Month, Work Out. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back in the saddle

  1. I’m glad Elia is sleeping better and you’re feeling human again. Enjoy your endorphin rush!

Leave a Reply

