3 Months

So much to say and so little time. And such a piss poor internet connection with which to say it. Ahem.

I’m a full week late, but sweet Elia is 3 months old already. What a month! Is it like this from here on out for the next few months/years? Every day has been something new. If I had to summarize the month, I’d have to call it the age of independence. What? Did I just say that for a 3 month old?

The baby that wouldn’t be put down suddenly started hanging out in her bouncy chair long enough for me to shower and dress in the mornings and is perfectly happy about it. This was huge. But she didn’t stop there. She’d fuss and fuss and fuss as I tried different carriers, holding her, bouncing her, walking with her, rocking her. Finally, out of ideas, I put her in her bassinet to think of the next plan of attack when suddenly she stopped fussing and smiled. Yes, our girl requires a several moments of alone time throughout the day. She talks to and giggles at the fan, looks around in a wonderfully Stevie Wonder kind of way and just generally enjoys herself until she doesn’t and then we’re alerted that it’s time for cuddles and attention again.

She’s discovered her toys and smiles and talks back when she’s read to, sung to, etc. She’s quite good at getting the adults to act a fool to keep those smiles coming. She hasn’t quite discovered that she can grab things yet, but she is showing signs of being quite the gymnast while breast-feeding. I swear I removed a toe from my ear the other day. She also rolls from front to back now, giving me some hope that the daily torture session that is tummy time has resulted in some good.

Sleeping continued to be a struggle –  still waking every 2 hours after midnight, but around 3 months that started to change. And last night, she went from 8:30 – 1 and 1:30 – 6. She also puts her self back to sleep now. I’d heard that 3 months was a turning point, but didn’t expect it to be quite so sudden! In fact, she also stopped screaming in the car at the same time.

I’d planned on commenting about all the unsolicited advice that new mother’s receive. I’d also planned on blogging about the fact that I refuse to apologize for holding my daughter. But instead I realized that the instances that triggered those blog topics are few and far between, relatively speaking. Instead, I’m going to comment about how, in general, the world is a little bit nicer when you have a baby with you. Strangers make eye contact and smile, hold doors, express an interest in you, and offer to help in other ways as well. I love it and hope I can pay it forward and spread the goodwill and good karma.

Elia at 3 months:

The tummy time battle.

Happy 3 Months!

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Family, Three Months. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

