The one in which we missed the wedding.

Last weekend our good friend Nicola got married in the Bahamas. Given Elia’s age, I had to sit this amazing vacation/party/biggest-event-of-our-best-friend’s-life out. I stayed in Atlanta while Ashley went to the Bahamas. It was hard for her to be away from Elia, and it was hard for me to miss the wedding, but all agreed that 6 weeks is a little young for international travel.

Months ago, when I realized we’d be apart this weekend, I channeled the Air Tran commercial: “Dont…leave me…with…the…BABY!” and called my mom for reinforcements stat.

We entertained ourselves by finding joy in everything, right down to her tiny toes:

Maw Maw & Elia

Playing dress up (This was my dress as a baby):

Mischief

And pumping like a mad woman to try to get a  freezer/fridge full of milk (you don’t get a photo for that one). After 3 days of pumping after every daytime feeding, I had enough for one 3.5oz bottle and one 3oz freezer bag. So frustrating.  I’ve been trying for 2 weeks to get enough for Ashley to get to give her a bottle after work and to stockpile some for future needs.

I’m trying to keep my water and calorie consumption up. It just seems like I make  *just enough* for her and that’s it. In my research, I read that a nursing mom should get a solid 8-10 hours of sleep for maximum milk production. Yeah right. So besides that ludicrous suggestion, if anyone has tips for upping milk supply, please feel free to comment!

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Second Month. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The one in which we missed the wedding.

  1. Alayna says:

    We had great luck with Mother’s Milk or Nursing Mom tea. It really helped my supply when I was nursing our oldest. Good luck!

    • Alicia says:

      Awesome – thanks! Another friend told me about Mothers Milk just this morning. I’ll look into both of those suggestions. Can you find both at whole foods?

Leave a Reply

