A new job & Mother’s Day

…Or Mothers’ Day, as The New Yorker reminds us:

Anyway, the Friday prior to Mother’s Day was a big one. I let my office know that I’d be leaving them to stay home with Elia. It went better than I could have ever hoped – everyone understood and no bridges were burned. In fact I spent 4+ hours in the office talking with my coworkers and saying goodbyes. Through it all, Elia was peacefully asleep in her sling except for a nursing break in a private, windowless room in the office. Yay for nursing on the run.

I came home to 4 loads of laundry, a sink full of dishes, and a hungry, poopy baby and couldn’t be happier with the choices our family has made. I’m so grateful for this opportunity.

Our first Mother’s Day was pretty low-key. Elia hit a growth spurt with ferocity and was eating or napping on the boob for well over 24 hours straight. Made our brunch plans a little difficult. So we took a rain check on the brunch and instead hung out at the house until late afternoon when we went to Ashley’s dads house for a Mother’s Day dinner. Surprisingly, Elia had a gift for us that day. She’d been almost-kinda-sorta social smiling since late April but that morning we were rewarded with big, consistent smiles in response to our talking and cooing. Just precious!

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Second Month. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A new job & Mother’s Day

  1. Megan Malmo says:

    Thank comic is great- I love your blog! I am really loving learning about your family!! ❤

    Fellow MM.. Megan 🙂

Leave a Reply

