A few of my favorite things

With everything going on towards the end of my pregnancy, I didn’t have the chance to blog about our wonderful showers. The alternate housing and Jimmy situations took up every spare bit of attention and energy. I think I’ll go back and recap the showers at some point, but this isn’t that post.

Through both showers, and then since Elia’s birth, we’ve been blown away by the thoughtfulness of those around us. Elia’s been very well cared for in terms of wonderful, beautiful gifts. Through it all, there have been a few off-registry gifts that truly delighted me! As I look over them, I notice that they have a common theme. They’re beautiful design that make momma and mommy feel a little special too. 🙂

Aden + Anais Swaddles

We registered for 2 of those “fool proof” swaddles, and received about 7. I guess that’s a popular gift. But these swaddles/blankets were completely unexpected. They’re simply huge, thin, impossibly soft blankets that can be used for swaddling, a light blanket, a burp cloth, etc. They’re beautiful and, as-advertised, truly do get softer with each washing. I’m already trying to figure out how to repurpose these after Elia outgrows them.

Balboa Baby Nursing Cover

This nursing cover was a wonderful surprise from a coworker who is also exclusively breastfeeding. While I’m more comfortable with nursing than even I expected, I still limited out-of-the-house nursing to the backseat of the car. I can be a little more adventurous with this. This cover is not only beautiful, but it has a wire rim on top so I can peek down and see Elia. The rim also keeps the fabric off her face, so it’s much better than tossing a blanket over her head.

Thirty-one Monogrammed Tote

Ashley and I both got these awesome monogrammed totes from Ashley’s sister. Mine is black & white pinstripe with hot pink accents. Ashley’s is a simple but tasteful black & white. They’re not quite diaper bag replacements, but they’re so functional and will grow with Elia. I can just see her running around on the beach with this tote full of blankets and toys.

Serena & Lily Sling

So this one comes with a huge caveat. This sling is stunning and makes me so very, very happy. HOWEVER, our little princess really doesn’t love it. So far, she’s a wrap girl. I hope it’s because she’s still rather small and that she just needs to grow into it. However, I think that the non-ring/non-adjustable element is where the problem is. The fact that it was on final clearance for $40 from its original price of $140 makes me fear that other mothers have found the same to be true. I’m going to keep trying though. It’s too gorgeous to retire just yet.

I realize now that this sounds totally sales pitch-y, and I didn’t mean for it to come across that way (You can take the girl out of advertising…)! This was just meant to share the gifts that I’ve been particularly excited about.

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Second Month. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A few of my favorite things

  1. Katy says:

    Best way to re-purpose those blankets is to have another baby!!!! Ah. I’ve totally become one of those people. If you know anyone that quilts, you may have enough for a little blanket topper and it would be super-soft and gorgeous.

    • Alicia says:

      Yes! You are brilliant! I just wrote a friend who quilts yesterday about different project. A quilt from the swaddles would be gorgeous. As for your first idea, I don’t think Elia was 4 weeks old when mom asked me when we were going to get working on the next one. When I shared that with Ashley, she said she’d been meaning to ask me the same. So I’m surrounded by “those people”! 😀

Leave a Reply

