Weeks 34 & 35

Here’s what’s been going on:

*  We had our growth scan ultrasound at 34 weeks, 3 days. Since it was “routine”, I thought of turning it down but, selfishly, I couldn’t resist seeing the baby again. Ironically, the week of the u/s, I became really glad that I decided to go for it. Suddenly, complete strangers were telling me I was “too small.” And then sharing their horror stories of malfunctioning placentas and what not. Some people really shouldn’t be allowed to talk to pregnant women. The good news from the u/s is that Elia is measuring 5lbs and just where she should be (give or take 11 oz – wow, really accurate). We also got to see her sweet little face again. However, we learned that my amniotic fluid is measuring “low normal” – and since your fluid level tends to decrease naturally over the next few weeks, they want to see me again in 2 weeks to be sure I’m staying over the threshold. I’m increasing water even more (wouldn’t think that was possible) and slowing down a touch, but am not really worried about it.

* The back pain continues, but seems to be fairly managed with the acupuncture appointments. I’m also feeling it much more in the hips – maybe she’s a little lower now? Besides that, all is going REALLY well and I’m still loving being pregnant.

* We’ve found a solution for our “Jimmy issue.” Jimmy is our cat, and while I haven’t blogged about his recent medical issues, suffice to say that finding a solution to our concerns has been a huge weight off my chest.

* I’ve completed the thank you notes from our NOLA shower and have wandered into the nursery to unwrap and look at everything over and over again. I’m waiting for our Atlanta shower to put everything away since I’ll have a good sense for what we have at that point. I have a big blog post with photos in progress!

So in summary – all is good!

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Third Trimester. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

