Don’t Panic

I think I’m going to hold off on blogging about the actual theme of the nursery until I receive the artwork from Mrs. Katy and get some awesome photographs framed.

But I do need to comment on the nursery color. It was a unanimous agreement that we will wait until the sweet pea can ask for a pink and purple princess room to give her a pink and purple princess room. We’re not overly pink and purple princess people. Plus, should we have additional children in this current home, we wanted the walls to be gender neutral enough to become a boy’s nursery if needed.

So, off we went in search of yellows, greens and even oranges. First, the orange selection sucks. So there’s that. But then we found that we really weren’t feeling the green either. So we ended up with 5 shades of cheery yellow and 1 lone green just because we felt like we needed variety. The samples all went up on the wall and amazingly, the single, lonely green won out after passing a variety of tests. Looked good with the crib! Looked great with the bedding set! Works with the theme better than yellow!

Glidden Spring Cactus wins!

Gliddon Spring Cactus

But then we (and by we, I mean Ashley) painted the room. And what looked fabulous on a 2′ x 2′ square of wall looks terr-i-fying throughout an entire room. Sure, it needs 1 more coat, and sure it’s being accented by the bright, obnoxious blue of painters tape and sure there’s not a lick of furniture in there to distract from it, but when I look into the nursery, I see this, but neon-ier:

Lime Sherbet - good to eat...not to paint with

But wait! There is still hope. Thanks to all of the internets, I am able to eavesdrop into other homes to see how this color looked on their walls. And look! It’s not fully tragic when paired with actual furniture:

 

Photo from "Get Your Martha On." Found relief and a new blog. Yay!

So I shall keep calm and carry on.

Besides, Ashley would leave me if I asked her to start over with colors at this point.

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Third Trimester and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t Panic

  1. Katy says:

    The art is going to look great against that color.

    Paint can be scary, but that one looks light enough to have plenty of variation and shade. I’m sure you’ll be fine. This is, of course, from a woman who completely repainted her front room after deciding it looked like a giant mint : )

  2. Alicia says:

    I agree! The art will look so good in there. I actually pulled up the images over the last day or so and was delighted to find that they all have some degree of green accents in the background without any of them being overly green. Which is when I also realized that your prints will match the bedding perfectly. And I don’t mean complement, I mean match. Bright orange tiger, brown monkey and BLUE (!) elephant.

Leave a Reply

