Hide & Seek

Have you ever been letterboxing or geocaching?

A few weekends ago after the recent ice storm, we were a little eager to get out of the house, as I noted previously. When our friend suggested that we go letterboxing with them after our regular brunch, it sounded perfect. I assumed we’d be tagging along, observing as they did their thing, but no. I was informed that I was expected to actually participate, which meant that I had 1 day to create my own stamp. I haven’t made my own stamp since the potato stamps of girl scouts, and I’m not exactly known for my creativity. Luckily, after a bit of research, I found that all you need is an eraser and an exacto knife – 2 things that one may just find lying around an advertising agency.

Of course a fleur de lis was the design that I chose although its precision was a little suspect.

On the way to our 2nd letterbox, Alicia (friend Alicia, not me) looked up the geocaches in the area. That’s when I realized just how many of these letterboxes and geocaches are all around us.

Walking to a geocache. Can you believe the snow still on the ground!?

People walk by these fun little secrets  all day, every day and never even know. This kind of thing is right up my alley so I think we’ll be going out again. And even if the craziness of life prevents that, I’ll need to remember this – especially letterboxing – since they’re such fun activities for young kids too.

Alicia with our first cache!

We found 2 letter boxes, and hunted 2 geocaches but only found 1 of them. We think the snowcover made the 2nd one extra difficult to find and are determined to go back to find it!  I also love how it allows you to explore and discover areas around you that you normally just zoom past.

If you want more info or a better explanation, just write me – I didn’t want to bog down this post with descriptions of each!

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Third Trimester and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hide & Seek

  1. I have always wanted to do this! How fun!

Leave a Reply

