Sicko

Whew, things have been quiet on this blog for the last week. In real life, they’ve been anything but quiet. Unfortunately the soundtrack has been all hacking coughs, sniffles and pitiful moaning and groaning.

A tiny little tickle in my throat last Thursday (gosh, already a week ago!) turned into full-blown sinus infection and (probably) bronchitis. If this is what a sinus infection is like, I can honestly say that I don’t think I’ve ever really had one before.

I’ve neer been so terrified of taking medicine while being equally terrified of NOT taking medicine in my life. I’m not a medicine taker to begin with. At all. In fact, not realizing that there’s a difference between antihistamines and decongestants probably delayed a little relief for at least 24 hours, if not more. But at a certain point the 5 straight days of fever and other symptoms required me to cross over to the medicated side. And medicated I’ve been! It took 4 days of antibiotics to feel human again! Now I just need to get rid of the persistent cough and we’re back in business.

Ash has been a saint. While I was coughing, sniffling, moaning and groaning and locked in front of a “Say Yes to the Dress” marathon, she converted our office loft into a guest bedroom and in doing so, she also cleared out the old guest room/nursery all by herself. That included moving a full bookcase down a staircase alone. I think seeing that caused my fever to spike. And I also have to mention her 5,642 visits to CVS and just as many confusing conversations with pharmacists. She’s literally gone to CVS at least once a day, often twice, since I’ve been sick.

Through it all, the wee pea has been kicking and flipping and turning more than ever, so I guess she hasn’t been too sedated by all the meds. In fact, one of the joys of being stuck in bed has been placing my phone or kindle on my belly and watching her go at it like a punching bag. It’s the first time I’ve noticed her move my whole belly.

I have more to say about the perils of googling: “(insert any symptom), while pregnant” (You’ll learn that you will die. Or your baby will die. Or maybe that you’re both already dead), but I’ll have to save it for later because it’s nap time. To all my first time prego friends reading this, just don’t google if you get sick. Seriously, don’t.

About Alicia

A New Orleans girl living in Georgia and starting a family. This blog is and outlet for my thoughts and pondering while pregnant, figuring out how to raise a little one, defining our family as a 2 mother household, work/careers, and just anything else I have to get off my mind. You can also expect the ruminations of special guest blogger, Ashley.
This entry was posted in Relationship, Second Trimester and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

